Elastic Art

“No great artist ever sees things as they really are. If he did, he would cease to be an artist”

-Oscar Wilde

Art can come in many different forms, shapes, and sizes. When most people think of art, they think of painting, drawing, or perhaps, even a stage performance of any type. Yes, those are forms of art, but NO! That’s not the exact definition! Art can fit and mold into any category of life, just like elastic. Art is not something that can be put into a box entitled, “This is art.” It is something so much more wonderful and fulfilling! Art is anything that you put your passions and whole heart into. Something you can see, feel, and something that can be dreamed. Even a businessman can be considered an artist. He may not be painting a picture or acting in a play, but his business is his work of art.

Today, I will be talking about one of my greatest passions; acting. As an aspiring actress, I have an extreme appreciation for the arts. To be honest, I haven’t done anything more than just dream of being an actress. Sure, I’ve been in many shows and plays, but not much further. There’s always that slight apprehension within me that says, “What if you try and you fail?” People always tell their kids, “Dream big!” But if all you do is dream, then you will never make that dream a reality. Acting is such an incredible skill. Not only does it help build confidence, but you can gain so many more skills. I have realized that I am able to relate with others, far better, than when I didn’t act. Acting is about temporarily being someone you’re not. As an actor, you have to be able to think, eat, speak, and breathe like the character. It can seem rather difficult to turn into something so opposite of myself. If I were playing a part as a patient of a psychiatric ward, I would need to learn how they function, what had led them to that point, and their motives. That can be a challenge. Obviously, though some may think otherwise, I do not have psychological problems. How can someone turn into such a strange character, so far from their normal stature? By completely surrendering. An actor must forget all feelings of shame and thoughts of what others would think of them. If an actor doesn’t put their whole heart and passion into it, how are they considered an artist? Reading a few lines off of a page, pretending to be a cowgirl, does not make me an actress. How I say the words and portray the character, is what would make me a true actor and artist. I suppose anyone can be an actor, but those who want to become good or even great, must have more than a cowboy hat and a twang. They must have the passion, discipline, and commitment to reach their full potential and achieve the title of “Artist”.

Leave a Reply

